incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Donald Szeto <don...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Graduate the Apache PredictionIO podling from Incubator to a TLP
Date Thu, 05 Oct 2017 21:01:47 GMT
Hey Sebb, thanks for pointing these out! I've gone ahead and removed old
releases (https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/PIO-130). The remaining
issues will be addressed by https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/PIO-131
soon.

Regards,
Donald

On Thu, Oct 5, 2017 at 4:30 AM, sebb <sebbaz@gmail.com> wrote:

> The website looks nice, but does not meet some of the requirements:
>
> https://www.apache.org/foundation/marks/pmcs#navigation
>
> Also the download page should mention how to find the KEYS file and
> how to use sigs and hashes to check downloads.
> See for example:
>
> http://httpd.apache.org/download.cgi#verify
>
> Further, old releases must be removed from the ASF distribution mirrors.
> In this case, 0.10.0 and 0.11.0.
>
> On 5 October 2017 at 05:55, Donald Szeto <donald@apache.org> wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >
> > The PredictionIO community started an initial discussion on graduation
> > [1], evaluated the maturity model [2], and had a consensus that the
> podling
> > is good to graduate. The community proceeded to draft a
> > resolution, discussed it [3], and voted on it [4]. The vote passed with 9
> > +1 votes (8 binding) and no -1 votes.
> >
> > The discussion proceeded to the general incubator list, and had gained
> > support [5]. I would now like to call for a recommendation vote to
> present
> > the ASF Board with the resolution to graduate from incubation and
> establish
> > Apache PredictionIO as a top-level project.
> >
> > Apache PredictionIO entered incubation in May 2016. Since then the
> podling
> > has made 3 releases and added 8 PPMC members. For each release, source
> > artifacts have been voted on and made available to the public on the
> Apache
> > distribution network. Based on the maturity model evaluation [2], we
> > believe that the project is ready to graduate from the Incubator.
> >
> > Please vote on whether to graduate PredictionIO from the Incubator and
> > recommend the graduation resolution below to the ASF Board.
> >
> > [  ] +1 Graduate Apache PredictionIO podling from the Incubator
> > [  ] +0 Don't care
> > [  ] -1 Don't graduate Apache PredictionIO podling from the Incubator
> > because...
> >
> > This vote will be open for at least 72 hours. Thanks to all mentors and
> > Apache PredictionIO project members and community for their support and
> > contribution.
> >
> > The full text of the resolution from [5] is below. The resolution will be
> > submitted to the Board of Directors for their consideration upon approval
> > by the Apache Incubator PMC members.
> >
> > Best Regards,
> > Donald
> >
> > ----------
> >
> >     Establish the Apache PredictionIO Project
> >
> >     WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best interests
> of
> >     the Foundation and consistent with the Foundation's purpose to
> establish
> >     a Project Management Committee charged with the creation and
> maintenance
> >     of open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the public,
> >     related to a machine learning server built on top of state-of-the-art
> >     open source stack, that enables developers to manage and deploy
> >     production-ready predictive services for various kinds of machine
> >     learning tasks.
> >
> >     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management Committee
> >     (PMC), to be known as the "Apache PredictionIO Project", be and
> hereby
> >     is established pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation; and be it
> further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that the Apache PredictionIO Project be and hereby is
> >     responsible for the creation and maintenance of software related to a
> >     machine learning server built on top of state-of-the-art open source
> >     stack, that enables developers to manage and deploy production-ready
> >     predictive services for various kinds of machine learning tasks; and
> be
> >     it further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache PredictionIO" be
> >     and hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at the
> >     direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the Apache
> >     PredictionIO Project, and to have primary responsibility for
> management
> >     of the projects within the scope of responsibility of the Apache
> >     PredictionIO Project; and be it further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and hereby are
> >     appointed to serve as the initial members of the Apache PredictionIO
> >     Project:
> >
> >      * Alex Merritt <emergentorder@apache.org>
> >      * Andrew Kyle Purtell <apurtell@apache.org>
> >      * Chan Lee <chanlee@apache.org>
> >      * Donald Szeto <donald@apache.org>
> >      * Felipe Oliveira <felipe@apache.org>
> >      * James Taylor <jtaylor@apache.org>
> >      * Justin Yip <yipjustin@apache.org>
> >      * Kenneth Chan <kenneth@apache.org>
> >      * Lars Hofhansl <larsh@apache.org>
> >      * Lee Moon Soo <moon@apache.org>
> >      * Luciano Resende <lresende@apache.org>
> >      * Marcin ZiemiƄski <ziemin@apache.org>
> >      * Marco Vivero <mvivero@apache.org>
> >      * Mars Hall <mars@apache.org>
> >      * Matthew Tovbin <tovbinm@apache.org>
> >      * Naoki Takezoe <takezoe@apache.org>
> >      * Pat Ferrel <pat@apache.org>
> >      * Paul Li <paulli@apache.org>
> >      * Shinsuke Sugaya <shinsuke@apache.org>
> >      * Simon Chan <simonc@apache.org>
> >      * Takahiro Hagino <hagino@apache.org>
> >      * Takako Shimamoto <shimamoto@apache.org>
> >      * Tamas Jambor <tjambor@apache.org>
> >      * Tom Chan <tchan@apache.org>
> >      * Vitaly Gordon <vitaly@apache.org>
> >      * Xiangrui Meng <meng@apache.org>
> >      * Xusen Yin <yin@apache.org>
> >      * Yevgeny Khodorkovsky <yev@apache.org>
> >
> >     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Donald Szeto be
> appointed
> >     to the office of Vice President, Apache PredictionIO, to serve in
> >     accordance with and subject to the direction of the Board of
> Directors
> >     and the Bylaws of the Foundation until death, resignation,
> retirement,
> >     removal or disqualification, or until a successor is appointed; and
> be
> >     it further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that the initial Apache PredictionIO PMC be and hereby is
> >     tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to encourage
> open
> >     development and increased participation in the Apache PredictionIO
> >     Project; and be it further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that the Apache PredictionIO Project be and hereby is
> tasked
> >     with the migration and rationalization of the Apache Incubator
> >     PredictionIO podling; and be it further
> >
> >     RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> Incubator
> >     PredictionIO podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator Project are
> >     hereafter discharged.
> >
> > ----------
> >
> > [1]
> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/2b4ef7c394584988cf0c99920824af
> aa60ee4c648d5c0069b1bf55c0@%3Cdev.predictionio.apache.org%3E
> >
> > [2]
> > https://community.apache.org/apache-way/apache-project-
> maturity-model.html
> >
> > [3]
> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/1b06e510773ee1d315728e0ce25f22
> 0c9cf7d9e8ad601ec9dba4fe1d@%3Cdev.predictionio.apache.org%3E
> >
> > [4]
> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/b8cbce13599edaa4d86649d33edca9
> 43e43e9bf8f420d7afad13f0f9@%3Cdev.predictionio.apache.org%3E
> >
> > [5]
> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/dc1c42a4fd6aa5e02f2e99f238a06c
> 351dd28e30322f15daeb99366f@%3Cgeneral.incubator.apache.org%3E
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
>
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message