Great!

On Thu, Jul 19, 2018 at 10:30 AM, Ivan Novick <inovick@pivotal.io> wrote:
Since you asked Aaron, Greenplum runs on Ubuntu:
https://greenplum.org/install-greenplum-oss-on-ubuntu/

And so does PostgreSQL
https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-install-and-use-postgresql-on-ubuntu-18-04

Cheers!

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 5:58 PM, FENG, Xixuan (Aaron) <xixuan.feng@gmail.com> wrote:
Good idea!

Is this just for Postgres?
Or Greenplum runs on Ubuntu also now?

On Thu, Jul 19, 2018 at 9:48 AM, Jingyi Mei <jmei@pivotal.io> wrote:
Might be too late. But definitely +1 here.

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:36 PM, Frank McQuillan <fmcquillan@pivotal.io> wrote:
Thanks for the comments and up votes.

I created a 1.15.1 release and a JIRA for this work
and moved some other Ubuntu-related stories/bugs in as well

Frank

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:24 PM, Nandish Jayaram <njayaram@pivotal.io> wrote:
+1 for ubuntu support!

NJ

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:22 PM Orhan Kislal <okislal@pivotal.io> wrote:
+1 Fully support the idea.

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:20 PM Nikhil Kak <nkak@pivotal.io> wrote:
+1 from me as well

On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:14 PM Marshall Presser <mpresser@pivotal.io>
wrote:

> +1 for this idea.  Ubuntu is an important part of the ecosystem and needs
> to be supported.
> MEP
>
> On Wed, Jul 18, 2018 at 2:54 PM, Frank McQuillan <fmcquillan@pivotal.io>
> wrote:
>
>> Hi MADlib community,
>>
>> Ubuntu is the most popular Linux distro and Apache MADlib does not
>> currently officially support it.  Below are some JIRAs from the
>> community on this issue:
>>
>> Ubuntu 16.04 - Using GCC 5 (default gcc) causes Postgres 9.6 crash
>> https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/MADLIB-1145
>>
>> Madlib Installation fails on Ubuntu 16.04
>> https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/MADLIB-1055
>>
>> https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/MADLIB-877
>> unable to properly compile c module
>>
>> As 1.15 is nearing release, I would suggest that we do a relatively fast
>> 1.15.1 release that focuses mainly on Ubuntu support.  We can of course
>> add bug fixes and minor stuff into 1.15.1 depending on community
>> wishes too, but it would be mostly about Ubuntu.
>>
>> If this seems like a good idea, pls comment & I will create a new release
>> and add the appropriate JIRAs.
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Frank
>>
>>
>
>
> --
>
> Marshall Presser
> Pivotal Data Engineering
> mpresser@pivotal.io
> 240.401.1750 <(240)%20401-1750>
>






--
Ivan Novick, Product Manager Pivotal Greenplum
inovick@pivotal.io --  (Mobile) 408-230-6491