incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Gian Merlino <g...@apache.org>
Subject [VOTE] Recommend 'Apache Druid graduation to Top Level Project' resolution to the board
Date Tue, 13 Aug 2019 07:03:39 GMT
The Apache Druid community has recently discussed our readiness for
graduation [1] and voted on it affirmatively [2, 3]. We've also assessed
ourselves against the maturity model [4] and collaborated on a resolution
for graduation including PMC membership and PMC chair.

The community's achievements since entering the Incubator in early 2018
include the following:

- Accepted 1240 patches from 142 contributors
- Performed 5 releases with 4 different release managers
- Invited 10 new committers
- Some time later on, invited all 10 of those new committers to join the
PMC (those that have accepted are named in the resolution below)
- Migrated development to Apache's GitHub org:
https://github.com/apache/incubator-druid
- Migrated our web site to https://druid.apache.org/
- Migrated developer conversations to the list at dev@druid.apache.org

Now the Druid community is bringing the attached resolution up for a formal
IPMC VOTE.

Please take a minute to vote on whether or not Apache Druid should graduate
to a Top Level Project by responding with one of the following:

[ ] +1 Apache Druid should graduate
[ ]  0 No opinion
[ ] -1 Apache Druid should not graduate because...

The VOTE is open for a minimum of 72 hours.

[1]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/68fcc3d2fc66c7f559e2c9dd02478d17f195565fecdb07ed53bc965e@%3Cdev.druid.apache.org%3E
[2]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/10c615a7648db14a268759be91f4b1eff448960f5338e0d416c7373a@%3Cdev.druid.apache.org%3E
[3]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/7517dd38fbeb28978b1188bed1d69e91445927d13d520a4c71ae9fcf@%3Cdev.druid.apache.org%3E
[4] https://gist.github.com/gianm/33ae4d61ebaa8b8714d9e2f51a11e7f7

----------

Establish Apache Druid Project

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
interests of the Foundation and consistent with the Foundation's
purpose to establish a Project Management Committee charged with
the creation and maintenance of open-source analytical database
software, for distribution at no charge to the public.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
Committee (PMC), to be known as the "The Apache Druid Project",
be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
Foundation; and be it further

RESOLVED, that The Apache Druid Project be and hereby is
responsible for the creation and maintenance of an analytical
database software project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Druid" be and
hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at the
direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of The Apache
Druid Project, and to have primary responsibility for
management of the projects within the scope of responsibility of
The Apache Druid Project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of The
Apache Druid Project:

  * Benedict Jin         (asdf2014@apache.org)
  * Charles Allen        (crallen@apache.org)
  * Clint Wylie          (cwylie@apache.org)
  * David Lim            (davidlim@apache.org)
  * Dylan Wylie          (dylanwylie@apache.org)
  * Eric Tschetter       (cheddar@apache.org)
  * Fangjin Yang         (fjy@apache.org)
  * Gian Merlino         (gian@apache.org)
  * Himanshu Gupta       (himanshug@apache.org)
  * Jihoon Son           (jihoonson@apache.org)
  * Jonathan Wei         (jonwei@apache.org)
  * Julian Hyde          (jhyde@apache.org)
  * Kurt Young           (kurt@apache.org)
  * Lijin Bin            (binlijin@apache.org)
  * Maxime Beauchemin    (maximebeauchemin@apache.org)
  * Niketh Sabbineni     (niketh@apache.org)
  * Nishant Bangarwa     (nishant@apache.org)
  * P. Taylor Goetz      (ptgoetz@apache.org)
  * Parag Jain           (pjain1@apache.org)
  * Roman Leventov       (leventov@apache.org)
  * Slim Bouguerra       (bslim@apache.org)
  * Surekha Saharan      (surekha@apache.org)
  * Xavier Léauté        (xvrl@apache.org)

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Gian Merlino
be and hereby is appointed to the office of Vice President,
Druid, to serve in accordance with and subject to the direction
of the Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification, or
until a successor is appointed; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Druid Project be and hereby
is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
Incubator Druid podling; and be it further

RESOLVED, that all responsibility pertaining to the Apache
Incubator Druid podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
PMC are hereafter discharged.

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message