incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "David P Grove" <gro...@us.ibm.com>
Subject [Discuss] Graduate Apache OpenWhisk (incubating) as a TLP
Date Tue, 02 Jul 2019 01:45:32 GMT


Hi all,

	In the two and a half years that Apache OpenWhisk (incubating) has
been a part of the Apache incubator, the community has grown, diversified,
and adapted to the Apache Way. We believe that the project is ready to
graduate to a TLP.

	As a community, we have discussed [1] and voted [2] to graduate to a
TLP, we have worked through the maturity model [3], notified the IPMC that
we have the intention to graduate [4], discussed our resolution [5, 6] and
proposed PMC chair [7].

	Please see the draft resolution appended below and provide any
comments or feedback you have on it.

	We would like to continue the graduation process and hereby ask you
all for your opinion on this. The discussion is open for 72 hours, after
which we will start a [VOTE] on graduation here.

thanks,

--dave
on behalf of the Apache OpenWhisk PPMC

[1]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/8daa3a05148f54ca82458777e2b2b5e25ba99d39dcf8ce7dd85d0188@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E
[2]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/34e5740cdf1ce5f74c9468d9f9b222ba8994f0c63a82777b020cdf10@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E
[3] https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/OPENWHISK/Project+Maturity
+Model
[4]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/02dd71dcc6b2f326015954388c61d06d12f982fd64f34ee40e076171@%3Cgeneral.incubator.apache.org%3E
[5]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/5b52f89c9af99fc79c7d466db83be1b299a441f258b8419285359ac5@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E
[6]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/5a44e377f3292a24de13c3a23f82735b82364c6419fab13e997bd91a@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E
[7]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/1c0366181b6812de7ae8f68cb546bb3a4512b53dc4e89edba7b27075@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E
[8]
https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/1c0366181b6812de7ae8f68cb546bb3a4512b53dc4e89edba7b27075@%3Cdev.openwhisk.apache.org%3E


Proposed Resolution for the Apache OpenWhisk project for the ASF Board:

X. Establish the Apache OpenWhisk Project

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best interests of the
Foundation and consistent with the
Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management Committee charged
with the creation and maintenance of
open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the public, related
to a platform for building serverless applications with functions.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management Committee (PMC),
to be known as the "Apache OpenWhisk Project",
be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation; and be
it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache OpenWhisk Project be and hereby is responsible
for the creation and maintenance of software
related to a platform for building serverless applications with functions;
and be it further

RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache OpenWhisk" be and
hereby is created, the person holding such office to
serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the Apache
OpenWhisk Project, and to have primary responsibility
for management of the projects within the scope of responsibility of the
Apache OpenWhisk Project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and hereby are
appointed to serve as the initial members of the
Apache OpenWhisk Project:
    Bertrand Delacretaz, bdelacretaz@apache.org
    Carlos Santana, csantanapr@apache.org
    Chetan Mehrotra, chetanm@apache.org
    Dave Grove, dgrove@apache.org
    Dominic Kim, style95@apache.org
    Dragos Dascalita Haut, dragos@apache.org
    James Dubee, dubee@apache.org
    James Thomas, jamesthomas@apache.org
    Jeremias Werner, jeremiaswerner@apache.org
    Krzysztof Sobkowiak, ksobkowiak@apache.org
    Markus Thömmes, markusthoemmes@apache.org
    Matt Rutkowski, mrutkowski@apache.org
    Matt Sicker, mattsicker@apache.org
    Michele Sciabarra, msciabarra@apache.org
    Olivier Tardieu, tardieu@apache.org
    Rob Allen, akrabat@apache.org
    Rodric Rabbah, rabbah@apache.org
    Sven Lange-Last, slange@apache.org
    Tyson Norris, tysonnorris@apache.org
    Vincent Hou, houshengbo@apache.org

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Dave Grove be appointed to the
office of Vice President, Apache OpenWhisk,
to serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the Board of
Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until death,
resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification, or until a successor
is appointed; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache OpenWhisk Project be and hereby is tasked with
the migration and rationalization of the Apache
Incubator OpenWhisk podling; and be it further

RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache Incubator
OpenWhisk podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
Project are hereafter discharged.

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message