incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Geertjan Wielenga <geertjan.wiele...@googlemail.com.INVALID>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] Graduate Apache NetBeans (incubating) as a TLP
Date Mon, 08 Apr 2019 02:40:14 GMT
Hi Justin,

We're close to being able to shutdown/redirect netbeans.org completely and
use netbeans.apache.org for everything. In terms of content, everything we
wanted to keep from netbeans.org, e.g., tutorials and feature descriptions,
has been donated by Oracle to Apache. We're matching the URL structure of
the original netbeans.org as much as possible so that redirects from, for
example, netbeans.org/kb/docs to netbeans.apache.org/kb/docs will be
possible.

The main part that has to be dealt with still is plugins.netbeans.org, for
which there have been several discussions on the dev mailing list at Apache
NetBeans. Here the challenge is that Apache cannot host and distribute the
NetBeans plugins and either Maven Central and/or GitHub will be used for
this, with the application at plugins.netbeans.org (which itself has been
donated by Oracle to Apache) needing to be rewritten to be a catalog of
references to wherever the plugins will be hosted -- and that catalog will
run at netbeans.apache.org via our Apache NetBeans Virtual VM. Once this
part has been completed (at a point that is not possible to determine right
now but one assumes during this year), we'll be able to redirect everything
from netbeans.org to netbeans.apache.org.

Note also that not everything that is NetBeans has been donated yet -- in
particular, the C/C++ features of NetBeans are in process for donation,
with some other parts following that, e.g., support for Python, Ruby, and
several other pieces like that. Hopefully this year too, though np
guarantees -- this is tracked at
cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/NETBEANS/Apache+Transition, which is
not completely up to date, but something we are working on.

>From Oracle:
* Arunava Sinha <arusinha@apache.org>
* Dusan Balek <dbalek@apache.org>
* Geertjan Wielenga <geertjan@apache.org>
* Jan Lahoda <jlahoda@apache.org>
* Jan Pirek <jpirek@apache.org>
* Jaroslav Tulach <jtulach@apache.org>
* Jiří Kovalský <jkovalsky@apache.org>
* Martin Entlicher <entl@apache.org>
* Reema Taneja <rtaneja@apache.org>
* Svatopluk Dedic <sdedic@apache.org>
* Tomas Zezula <tzezula@apache.org>

Newly voted in (i.e., these were not in the initial list of committers):

* Antonio Vieiro <vieiro@apache.org>
* Arunava Sinha <arusinha@apache.org>
* Eirik Bakke <ebakke@apache.org>
* Eric Barboni <skygo@apache.org>
* Jean-Marc Borer <jmborer@apache.org>
* John McDonnell <johnmcdonnell@apache.org>
* Lars Bruun-Hansen <lbruun@apache.org>
* Laszlo Kishalmi <lkishalmi@apache.org>
* Reema Taneja <rtaneja@apache.org>
* Simon Phipps <webmink@apache.org>
* Thilina Ranathunga <thilina01@apache.org>

Thanks,

Gj




On Mon, 8 Apr 2019 at 01:14, Justin Mclean <justin@classsoftware.com> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Just wondering if you could answer a few questions:
> - What the situation with https://netbeans.org website?
> - How diverse (in terms of who employs them) are the proposed PPMC
> members? With the large size I’m assuming many different employers but it
> would still be interesting to know how many are directly or indirectly
> connected to Oracle.
> - How many new committers and PPMC members have been voted in?
>
> Thanks,
> Justin
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
>
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message