Hi -

The Apache Pulsar project is ready to graduate as a TLP. They entered Incubation on June 1, 2017, have had many releases and have grown the community.

Vote:
[ ] +1 - Recommend Graduation of Apache Pulsar as a TLP
[ ] -1 - Do not recommend graduation of Apache Pulsar because ….

At the mentors request they did a maturity model analysis [1] and wrote contribution guidelines. [2]

The Graduation Proposal was written and discussed on the dev list. [3] At the mentor's recommendation the By-Laws Clause was removed. 

The new prospective PMC is set and the VOTE thread in the podling is here [4] with these results. [5]

Regards,
Dave

[1] https://github.com/apache/incubator-pulsar/wiki/Apache-Maturity-Model-Assessment-for-Pulsar
[2] http://pulsar.incubator.apache.org/en/contributing/
[3] https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/b0914461f57253237e4a3c9151342f6d4fa37359dfc98a07adf9f36f@%3Cdev.pulsar.apache.org%3E
[4] https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/93198abe36564a9e11a2a1bfe3ea8f35998444dbafea830f8b39df7b@%3Cdev.pulsar.apache.org%3E
[5] https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/64841a07ba3dee2271f4098f9142afd41acffae1736275592aab4c83@%3Cdev.pulsar.apache.org%3E


---------------------------------------- 

Establish the Apache Pulsar Project

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best interests of 
the Foundation and consistent with the Foundation's purpose to establish 
a Project Management Committee charged with the creation and maintenance 
of open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the public, 
related to a highly scalable, low latency messaging platform running on 
commodity hardware. It provides simple pub-sub and queue semantics over 
topics, lightweight compute framework, automatic cursor management for 
subscribers, and cross-datacenter replication.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management Committee 
(PMC), to be known as the "Apache Pulsar Project", be and hereby is 
established pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation; and be it further  

RESOLVED, that the Apache Pulsar Project be and hereby is responsible 
for the creation and maintenance of software related to a highly 
scalable, low latency messaging platform running on commodity hardware. 
It provides simple pub-sub and queue semantics over topics, lightweight 
compute framework, automatic cursor management for subscribers, and 
cross-datacenter replication; and be it further  

RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Pulsar" be and 
hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at the 
direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the Apache Pulsar 
Project, and to have primary responsibility for management of the 
projects within the scope of responsibility of the Apache Pulsar 
Project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and hereby are 
appointed to serve as the initial members of the Apache Pulsar Project:
  
* Boyang Jerry Peng <jerrypeng@apache.org
* Brad McMillen <bradtm@apache.org
* David Fisher <wave@apache.org
* Francis Christopher Liu <toffer@apache.org
* Hiroyuki Sakai <hrsakai@apache.org
* Ivan Brendan Kelly <ivank@apache.org
* Jai Asher <jai1@apache.org
* Jia Zhai <zhaijia@apache.org
* Jim Jagielski <jim@apache.org
* Joe Francis <joef@apache.org
* Ludwig Pummer <ludwigp@apache.org
* Masahiro Sakamoto <massakam@apache.org
* Masakazu Kitajo <maskit@apache.org
* Matteo Merli <mmerli@apache.org
* Nozomi Kurihara <nkurihar@apache.org
* P. Taylor Goetz <ptgoetz@apache.org
* Rajan Dhabalia <rdhabalia@apache.org
* Sahaya Andrews <andrews@apache.org
* Sanjeev Kulkarni <sanjeevrk@apache.org
* Sebastián Schepens <sschepens@apache.org
* Siddharth Boobna <sboobna@apache.org
* Sijie Guo <sijie@apache.org
* Yuki Shiga <yushiga@apache.org>  

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Matteo Merli be appointed 
to the office of Vice President, Apache Pulsar, to serve in accordance 
with and subject to the direction of the Board of Directors and the 
Bylaws of the Foundation until death, resignation, retirement, removal 
or disqualification, or until a successor is appointed; and be it 
further  

RESOLVED, that the Apache Pulsar Project be and hereby is tasked with 
the migration and rationalization of the Apache Incubator Pulsar 
podling; and be it further  

RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache Incubator 
Pulsar podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator PMC are hereafter 
discharged.